Where do artists get their ideas?

Lately, I’ve been thinking a lot about how artists get their ideas since I’ve been suffering from “artist’s block” and I found this interesting article:

https://www.sophia.org/tutorials/inspiration-in-visual-art-where-do-artists-get-the

Even though I started out with a clear message in assignment 2.1, I’ve found myself moving into the realm of “experimenting with formal elements” and “experimenting with the qualities of a particular medium” instead.  Much like a Pollock painting or Kandinsky, my Photoshop collage has developed a life of its own.  I’m letting the images, Photoshop tools and colors help guide my creative process instead of an explicit narrative. The narrative still exists, but now it is slightly more nebulous and open to interpretation.

Leave a comment